Dr. John Rushing

Dr. John Rushing | CU Advanced Reproductive Medicine | Colorado Springs | Denver

Specialty: Obstetrics & Gynecology, Reproductive Endocrinology

Clinical location

Denver IVF & Fertility Center
3055 Roslyn Street
Denver, CO 80238

Request appointment

(303) 724-8089 |
Request Appointment Online

About Dr. Rushing

Dr. Rushing has joined CU Advanced Reproductive Medicine as a reproductive endocrinology & infertility fellow. He attended the University of Mississippi where he earned a Bachelor of Arts in biology. Following his undergraduate education, he did two years of research in the department of physiology. He then completed his medical degree at the University of Mississippi School of Medicine, where he also did his OB-GYN residency.

In his free time, Dr. Rushing enjoys playing golf and spending time outdoors with his family and dogs. He has a personal history of infertility, and his passion is working closely with patients to help them achieve their goals through their infertility journey.


Fellowship, University of Colorado Denver, reproductive endocrinology & infertility (2019-present)

Residency, University of Mississippi Medical Center (2015-2019), OB-GYN

MD, University of Mississippi (2015)

BA, University of Mississippi, biology (2009)

Professional associations

American Society for Reproductive Medicine

American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists

Society of Reproductive Surgeons

Research publications and abstracts - peer reviewed publications

Wallace, K, Chatman, KF, Johnson, V, Brookins, A, Rushing, JS, LaMarca, B. Novel treatment avenues for uterine leiomyoma: A new implication for Endothelin? Clin Sci (Lond) 2018 Oct 29;132(20):2261-2267. PMID: 30301761.

Parry, JP, Rushing, JS. Blastocyst Transfer for Everyone? In Textbook of Assisted Reproduction. Ed. Allahbadia, G. Publisher: Springer Science, Haddonfield, NJ. (currently in press).

Parry, JP, Riche, D, Rushing, J, Linton, B, Butler, V, Lindheim, SL. Performing the Parryscope technique gently for office tubal patency assessment. Fertil Steril. 2017 Oct; 108(4): 718.

do Carmo JM, da Silva AA, Sessums PO, Ebaady SH, Pace BR, Rushing JS, Davis MT, Hall JE. Rolde oh Shp2 in forebrain neurons in regulating metabolic and cardiovascular functions and responses to leptin. International Journal of Obesity. 2014 Jun; 38(6): 755-83.

do Carmo JM, da Silva AA, Rushing JS, Pace B, Hall JE. Differential control of metabolic and cardiovascular functions by melanocortin-4 receptors in proopiomelanocortin neurons. American Journal of Physiology. 2013 Aug 15; 305(4): R359-68.

do Carmo JM, da Silva AA, Rushing JS, Hall JE. Activation of central melanocortin system contributes to the increase arterial pressure in obese Zucker rats. American Journal of Physiology. 2012 Mar 1; 302(5): R561-7.

Honors and awards

AAGL Special Excellence in Endoscopic Procedures Award, recipient OBGYN Graduation 2019.

Society for Maternal-Fetal Medicine Resident Award for Excellence in Obstetrics, recipient OBGYN Graduation 2019.

John T. Kitchings, M.D. CREOG Examination Award, recipient OBGYN Graduation 2019.

APGO Excellence in Teaching Award, recipient OBGYN Graduation 2019.

One of six residents chosen by third year medical students to receive the Humanism and Excellence in Teaching Award, sponsored by the Arnold P. Gold Foundation. This award honors residents who have demonstrated an enthusiastic commitment to teaching and who serve as role models for the compassionate treatment of patients and families, students, and colleagues. (Recipient 2016, 2017, 2018, and 2019).

Recipient of Resident of the Year Award for the academic year 2018-2019. This award was voted on by the third year medical students and awarded to the resident who best exemplifies excellence in teaching and patient care.

Recipient of All Star Resident Award for the academic year 2017-2018. This award was voted on by fourth year medical students and awarded to a resident who exemplifies excellence in teaching and patient care.

Recipient of Golden Apple Teaching Award. This award is given quarterly to OBGYN residents that exhibit excellence in medical education. (Recipient 2016, 2018). Recipient of Joey Purvis Award in 2015 that goes to the medical student who most exemplifies caring and concern for patients and fellow students.

Member of the 2014-2015 class of the Jeanette D. Pullen Chapter of the Gold Humanism Honor Society (GHHS) at the University of Mississippi School of Medicine. The selection process solicited input from medical student peers, clinical clerkship faculty and staff and faculty and staff from the administrative offices. Members were selected for their demonstrated excellence in the areas of patient care, compassion, and dedication to service.

Recipient of ACOG District VII John Gibbons Medical Student Award in 2014. The Gibbons Award honors medical students with a passion and dedication to women’s healthcare and advocacy.